2011 OHPY and DOHYP Awards

OHPY NFL MVP, Drew Brees

2011 OHPY NFL MVP, Brees set several NFL records this season

Now that the NFL regular season is over, it’s time to assess performances and handout somer, err, hardware if you will. Orange Husky Productions officially presents to you, our loyal readers, the first ever OHPY and DOHPY awards. OHPYs will recognize the best of the best in the NFL; an MVP, Defensive MVP, Offensive MVP (that isn’t a QB, since only QBs win MVPs in the NFL), and Coach of the year. The DOHPYs, well, just the opposite. Think Homer Simpson “Doh!” and add PYS to the end. Now that you understand the awards, let’s get to it.

2011 OHPY Awards

NFL MVP—Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints

Any of four quarterbacks could have been given the award this year. It was a record setting kind of year for them all, but only one led the way, and set several more records than the rest, and continued a few streaks that he currently holds. Here’s a list of a few of them: Single season passing yards (broke Marino’s record set in 1984), passing attempts (657), completions (468), completion percentage (71.2), 13 300-yards-passing games, 7 straight 300-yards-passing games. Brees definitely deserves this one.

Shady was a bright spot for the Eagles

Offesnive MVP (not a QB)—Lesean McCoy, Philadelphia Eagles

I had a tough time with this one. Sure, I’m a little biased, but let me make the case. For me, this award came down to three people: McCoy, Maurice Jones-Drew, and Calvin Johnson. What ruled MJD out for me, although he accounted for nearly half of the Jaguars total offensive points and yards, the Jags had almost 2,000 yards less and half as many total TDs as the Lions and Eagles. So what separated McCoy from Megatron? The Eagles RB played two less games (missed one, and was injured during another) than Johnson, yet McCoy still accounted for 25% of the Eagles total yards and 48% of their touchdowns. When everything seemed to go wrong for the Eagles on offense (despite the plethora of weapons), they could turn to Shady who would make something happen. That’s why this OHPY goes to him.

Defensive MVP—Jared Allen, Minnesota Vikings

It’s difficult to give this award to someone who played for a team that went 3-13, but if there was any bright spot for the Vikings this year, it was Jared Allen. Allen finished the season 1 sack short of breaking Michael Strahan’s single-season record of 22.5. Several defensive ends were close to the record including Jason Pierre-Paul, but Allen came that close with far fewer plays-from-scrimmage to get it done. Defense wasn’t very abundant this season, but the individual effort put forth by Allen gives him this award.

Coach of the Year—Jim Harbaugh, San Francisco 49ers

No team made a bigger single-season turnaround than the 49ers, who were 6-10 in 2010, and last in the NFC West. This year, the 49ers finished 13-3, have the second seed in the NFC, and did it with basically the same roster as last year. Something sparked this roster to improve as much as it did, and all of that boils down to Harbaugh, a rookie NFL coach. After struggling for the first few years of his career, Alex Smith could should have been on the chopping block. Harbaugh instilled his confidence in the young QB, and Smith has flourished in the new system.

Rookie of the Year—Aldon Smith, San Francisco 49ers

49ers 2011 1st round draft pick, Aldon Smith

This award could have gone to a few rookie quarterbacks, but like the offensive MVP award, I wanted to stay away from that side of the ball, and that position in particular (also, despite the numbers, Cam Newton wasn’t able to win games). Aside from an improved offense, the 49ers had the second-ranked defense in the NFL this season. They only allowed 14.3 points per game, second to only the Steelers by .1 points. First-round draft pick Aldon Smith out of Missouri made an immediate impact for the 49ers. The rookie linebacker recorded 14 sacks—which led the team—and forced two fumbles. Smith will have an impact in the post season, and could help the 49ers make a deep run.

2011 DOHPY Awards

NFL Non-MVP—Vince Young, Philadelphia Eagles

Partly venting some frustration, but mainly true. Vince Young, aside from one 10-minute game-winning drive, was absolutely terrible this season. In his first official snap as an Eagle, Young threw a horrible interception while backed up inside the Eagles own 20 yard line. Then, while starting in place of an injured Mike Vick, Young threw four TDs to eight INTs in three games, for a well deserved 60.8 QB rating. For a QB that was auditioning for a future job with some other team—I sure as hell don’t want him back—Young seemed to do everything he could to prevent himself from ever being a starting QB. He can take his “talents” and “Dream Team comments” with him, and never look back.

Defensive Non-MVP—Albert Haynesworth, New England Patriots/Tampa Bay Buccaneers

The Haynesworth project turned out to be a disaster in New England, and didn’t get much better with the Bucs, who picked him off of the waiver wire after he was cut by the Pats in November. For the season Haynesworth recorded just 23 combined tackles, and no sacks. In the final eight games of the season, the Bucs gave up 35 or more points (40 or more in three of those), and Haynesworth was a part of losing efforts for the last 10 games he played.

Non-Coach of the Year—Jim Caldwell, Indianapolis Colts

"Phew, I'm lucky to still have a job"

Not having Peyton Manning for the Year is no excuse. One player, albeit a perennial  MVP candidate, shouldn’t have that big of an impact on a team, especially with talent Reggie Wayne and Joseph Addai still on the roster. Caldwell was unable to keep this team together, and is lucky that the blame was placed on the Polian family. Decisions were made about the QB position, and none of them panned out. Instead of having the confidence to go with life-time backup Curtis Painter, the Colts went out and picker Kerry Collins off of a couch and expected him to step right into his role. When that didn’t work they turned the keys of the offense over to Painter, but nothing changed. The Colts, who had 12 or more win seasons in seven of the last eight, finished 2011 2-14. Completely unacceptable.

So there you have it, the first ever OHPY and DOHPY Awards. Hope you enjoy and agree with the picks. Leave your comments below.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: BLOG


I'm an editor for Associations Now, a magazine pubished by ASAE: The Center for Association Leadership. I live in Springfield, VA with my amazing wife, and am enjoying the ride that life is taking me on.


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “2011 OHPY and DOHYP Awards”

  1. January 8, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    Good post, it will be fun to compare when the real awards come out in a few weeks. I think we should send all OHPY Winners a trophy.


  1. Previewing the 2012 NFL Season | Orange Husky Productions - September 4, 2012

    […] may remember at the end of last season, the prestigious first annual OHPY and DOHPY awards were handed out in several categories. Well, with our first full season of coverage ahead of us, […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: