Week 5 Picks: Part 1

Boom! We’re back in the game.

I’m starting to buy into this whole “Thursday’s game sets the tone” thing that’s happening here. So I guess that means we have to put a lot of stock into getting this one right. After correctly predicting the Ravens would trounce the Browns (kinda catchy–“trounce the Browns”) I finished the week 11-4 to climb back over the .500 mark. 33-30 biotches.

There may be a slight format change in Part 2 this week due to extra curricular activities pulling me away from the  interwebs for the weekend. But fear not! You will get your picks!

So off we go on another adventure into the world of Thursday Night Football.

Arizona Cardinals @ St. Louis Rams–Thursday, 8:30 pm

Since 2004, Arizona is 12-3 against the Rams–by far their best record against any team during that same stretch–which includes a sweep last season. They enter this game as one of the three remaining unbeatens in the league (barely) thanks to the strength of their defensive play. Three of their wins this year have been by four or fewer points. And this after last season when all eight of their wins came by seven points or fewer, four in overtime (thank you ESPN for that one). St. Louis has already matched its win total from all of last season and have really bought into whatever head coach Jeff Fisher has been selling to them.

Despite how dominant Arizona’s defense has looked, they’re actually giving up more yardage per game than the Rams (348 to 357). Points per game has been the difference, though. Where Arizona is giving up just over 14 points (3rd best in the league), St. Louis is allowing just under 23 (T-16th).

At the start of the season, this is probably the one Thursday night matchup that I would have put dead last on my must-see-TV list, but the story lines are fascinating. Can Kevin Kolb keep reclaiming his job like he’s had to do on a weekly basis since leaving Philly? Can the Rams complete one of the most improbable turnarounds in NFL history? All of this in the throngs of a divisional showdown–one in the all-of-a-sudden deep NFC West(?!?!).

The last time I put my money in the corner of the “underdog” on Thursday night, the team I thought was going to take the opportunity under the national spotlight to show the world that they have arrived, I got completely bit in the arse. Fool me one? Shame on me. Fool me twice? Well, you’re not going to. Cardinals win 27-20

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: BLOG

Author:robstott

I'm an editor for Associations Now, a magazine pubished by ASAE: The Center for Association Leadership. I live in Springfield, VA with my amazing wife, and am enjoying the ride that life is taking me on.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

